9th Queen’s Royal Lancers
The 9th Lancers were raised in 1715 as Wynne’s Dragoons to fight in the Jacobite Rebellion. The ‘9th’ was added in 1742 and converted in 1783. to light dragoons. The London Gazette reported in October 1816 that the regiment was to be armed and equipped as Lancers but this would not take place until mid 1830. In 1920 the title 9th Queen’s Royal Lancers was finally adopted however this march was lost to them when amalgamated with the 12th Lancers to form the 9th/12th Royal Lancers (Princes of Wales’s).
Le Regiment de Montmagny
The regiment used the march until their 1954 amalgamation with the Fusiliers du St. Laurent to form the Les Fusiliers du St. Laurent. At the same time they became the 5th Battalion of the Royal 22e Regiment until 1969 when they separated and became independent regiment. Little is known of the march or its composer.
Back o’ Bennachie
48th Highlanders of Canada / Gordon Highlanders / Scots Guards
The Gordon Highlanders used this march for their ‘C’ Company prior to amalgamation and formation of The Highlanders. In 2006 The Highlanders amalgamated with the other Scottish infantry regiments into the single large Royal Regiment of Scotland but the march was not retained. The march was used by the Scots Guards (1st Battalion) and the 48th Highlanders for ‘C’ Companies tunes.
13th Hussars / 13th/18th Royal Hussars / The Light Dragoons
The Regimental March of the 13th/18th Royal Hussars (Queen Mary’s Own) was a tune that became very popular with the British Army after the Crimean War. The 13th Hussars were raised in 1715 as Munden’s Dragoons but in 1861 changed to the 13th Hussars. They retained the march that is also a battle honour won during the famous Charge of the Light Brigade. It is based on a popular cavalry barrack room ballad that appeared after the Crimean War.
The first eight bars of A Life on the Ocean Wave were authorized to preface the march on regimental occasions. This was done to commemorate the Normandy Landings when the 13th/18th headed the assault in amphibian tanks. In December 1992 the regiment amalgamated with the 15th/19th The King’s Royal Hussars to form The Light Dragoons. The quick march was retained in honour of the 13th’s role in the Crimean War.
Banks of Newfoundland
The Royal Newfoundland Regiment
This tune is one of Newfoundland's most well known folk songs composed by Chief Justice Francis Forbes in 1820. It is still heard throughout the province’s musical circles and is one of the earliest Newfoundland compositions set down in music notation. It has been associated with the Royal St. John's Regatta since its early days. As a Regatta song it is more popularly known as "Up The Pond", and is traditionally played as the crews pass the bandstand on their return to the stakes. It was later made the official song of the Regatta. Although there are six versions, the most popularly one is an Irish ballad that reflects the trails of sailors in the North Atlantic during the earlier days of sailing. The arranger's name is unknown but the composition was transformed into a martial air and used by The Royal Newfoundland Regiment. The Regiment was formed as a unit of the British Imperial Forces on August 21, 1914, and was taken on strength with the Canadian Forces in 1949.
Bannocks of Barley Meal
7th Queen’s Own Hussars / 28th Regiment of Foot / Royal Gloucestershire, Bershire and Wiltshire Regiment
This Irish jig’s origin is unknown however ‘Bannocks’ is a Scots word for a type of oatcake and is described as a “…long kail and pottage, bannocks of barley meal, good salt herring, a cup of good ale, onions, radishes, pease - boiled and raw, abundance of mouthfuls of skate, sheep’s head broth, fresh ox feet, crabs, winkles, speldies [dried fish], haddocks, and broth with barley to sup till ye’re fou.”
The Duke of Argyll (1678-1743) is credited with composing the words. It was used by the old 28th Regiment of Foot, later the Gloucestershire Regiment under the title the ‘Kynegad Slashers’. The nickname came to the regiment in 1775 for their work at the crossing of the River Bronx in North America. The title of ‘Slashers’ was given to the 28th in 1777 after their service in Montreal, Canada. The regiment was also stationed in Ireland that may have been the time the march was adopted and became specially associated with the 28th as a quickstep. Later, it was officially recognized as the regimental march. In 1994 it became part of the Royal Gloucestershire, Bershire and Wiltshire Regiment followed later in 2005 when the regiment became light infantry. The march was lost at this time in preference of the march The Sphinx and the Dragon with a slow march of Scipio. The regiment would again be amalgamated in 2007 with the 1 DDLI to form the 1st Battalion The Rifles.
87th Regiment / The Royal Irish Fusiliers
The regimental march of takes its name from the 1811 Battle of Barossa. Here the British forces were attempting a seaborne attack against the rear of the French army besieging Cadiz. Although it was a British strategic victory it failed to break the siege of Cadiz but caused the French to commit more troops to the area. During this action the 87th Foot distinguished itself as stated in General Graham’s dispatch “The animated charges of the 87th Regiment were most conspicuous.” They took the first eagle captured during the Peninsular War that belonged to the 87th French Regiment of Light Infantry. A French officer commented with “the most terrible bayonet fight I had ever seen.” The march would be adopted and combined with St. Patrick’s Day during 1881 when the Royal Irish Fusiliers were formed. In 1968 the regiment merged with two other regiments to form the Royal Irish Rangers however the march was not adopted in favour of Killaloe.
Although it has an unknown origin there are several theories. Many believe it is a Spanish air while others an Irish medley but it did appear during the Peninsular War. The Royal Irish Fusiliers have a set of handwritten verses that appear to date from early Victorian times. The first version of the melody is in Sergeant Newman’s book, where it is called Barosa Plains. The march is played and sung in the Officer's Mess each March on Barroso Day that celebrates the capture of the Eagle Standard.
Barren Rocks of Aden
Aden, near the entrance to the Red Sea, was noted for its barren and desolate volcanic rocks, and was annexed to British India in 1839. In 1967, after violence between nationalists and British forces, it became what is now the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen. The Barren Rocks of Aden was being published in fiddle collections by the 1870s, but has been around longer in the bagpipe repertoire. Bayard (1981) says the tune is well known among bagpipers and fifers in modern times, but that the piece is not particularly old; he traces it to a possible source from a Highland regiment, which version was published in McDonald's Gesto Collection in 1895. Hunter (1988) attributes the tune to one A. MacKellar of the 78th Seaforth Highlanders Regiment of the British Army. David Murray noted in his volume Music of the Scottish Regiments (Edinburgh, 1994), dates the tune to the mid 19th century when the 78th was stationed in Bombay. A detachment was provided from the regiment to garrison Aden, and it was there that Piper James Mauchline composed the march, which has become one of the most familiar of Scottish martial airs. “The first two measures went well on the flute,” writes Murray, “so the march was taken up by many corps of drums, eventually becoming a standby, played frequently by the drums of English regiments which had no idea of its provenance and who would accuse the pipers of stealing their tune. ‘The Barren Rocks’ has been played and whistled wherever Scots soldiers have been stationed.” The Royal Scots use the tune for the ‘A’ Company march.
King’s Royal Rifle Corps
The regiment began in 1755 as the 62nd (Royal American) Regiment of Foot in America mainly manned by colonists. It served with distinction in several actions such as the Taking of Quebec and the French Indian War in North America. The 62nd became the King’s Royal Rifle Corps who adopted the march along with The Huntsmen’s Chorus until 1966 when they became the 2nd Battalion Green Jackets. The march was not retained as a new march was arranged from the Huntsman’s Chorus and The Italian Song.
The Battle of Waterloo
The Queen’s Own Highlanders
The Battle of Waterloo was one of the major turning points in history. The battle took place on June 18, 1815 just 30 miles south of Brussels, Belgium. Just two days before Napoleon had attacked the Prussians at Ligny and the British at Quatre Bras with the Prussians taking the heavier attack. The Allies fell back and made their famous stand at Waterloo. The British Army withstood the French repeated attacks until the badly beaten Prussians came to support them in the late afternoon. This effectively ended Napoleon’s attempts to regain control of Europe again.
The 92nd Regiment of Foot, present at Waterloo, made the famous charge by holding the stirrups of the Royal Scots Greys. Beginning in 1794 as the 100th Regiment of Foot the title changed four years later to the 92nd Foot and again in 1881 the 2nd Battalion, The Gordon Highlanders who adopted it for their Waterloo Company. The 75th Foot became the 1st Battalion and in September 1994 the regiment merged with the Queen’s Own Highlanders to form The Highlanders (Seaforth, Gordons and Camerons).
Army Physical Training Corps
This march was composed in 1944 when Bandmaster W. T. Atkins (British Army) arranged music from Richard Kiplings ‘Land and Sea Tales.’ The tune is also known as Even Hearts and was adopted by the Army Physical Training Corps of the British Army. The Corps began as the Army Gymnastic Staff in 1860 and retained the title until 1918. The tile changed several times until 1940 when the present day title of The Army School of Physical Training was adopted.
Begone, Dull Care
1st Canadian Division Headquarters and Signals Regiment/ Royal Canadian Corps of Signals / Royal Corps of Signals
The popularity of this tune may date back as far as 1687 and enjoyed a revival in the ballet William Tell around 1793. It may have been derived from The Queen’s Jigg that was included in the Dancing Masterr and reprinted in the National English Airs around 1701. One popular version comes from the reign of Elizabeth and James I while another appeared in 1687 in Playford's Pleasant Musical Companion, Part II, known as The Buck’s Delight. The verse in this collection is:
"Begone, old care, and I prithee be gone from me,
For in’ faith, old Care, thee and I shall never agree;
"Tis long thou hast liv'd with me, and fain thou wouldst me kill,
But in’ faith, old Care, thou never shalt have thy will."
This old tune makes up The Royal Signals March along with Newcastle. In pre-war days, communications was one of the duties of the Royal Engineers and later a special corps was formed to deal with the signals, later to become the Royal Corps of Signals. The Secretary of State for War, Winston Churchill signed the Royal Warrant for their creation on 28 June 1920. Six weeks later, King George V conferred the title Royal Corps of Signals and was given precedence immediately after the Royal Engineers.
In Canada, beginning with the title Signaling Corps, The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals have seen a long and distinguished service. It is interesting to note that the corps assisted in the opening of many areas of the northern regions of Canada with its North West Territories and Yukon Radio System. The corps saw serve in both world wars and provided a company for the Siberian Expeditionary Force of 1918-1919. During the 1960s many old Canadian Corps were disbanded and the RCCS was one however the 1st Canadian Division Headquarters and Signals Regiment retained this march as a direct link to the old corps. The Canadian arrangement is by Captain Charles Adams with the title Corps March of the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals. It should be noted that there are two other marches related to the communication field in the Canadian Forces. Communications Command use the march Communications while the Communications and Electronics Branch adopted The Mercury March.
The 4th Queen's Own Hussars / The Queen's Royal Irish Hussars / The Queen's Royal Hussars
Cavalry regiments did not have a quick march for many years. Shortly after WW2 Bandmaster C. H. Jaeger of the 4th Queen's Own Hussars was ordered by his Commanding Officer to write one for the Regiment. The title was named after The Hon. John Berkeley who was the first Colonel of the Regiment in 1685 and was first published in 1952. In 1958 the regiment became The Queen's Royal Irish Hussars which continued use of the tune combined with St. Patrick’s Day and A Galloping 8th Hussars. The regiment was amalgamated with The Queen's Own Hussars on in 1993 to form The Queen's Royal Hussars (The Queen's Own and Royal Irish). Under the title The Regimental Quick March of the Queen’s Royal Hussars the march was retain along with the other marches of the two amalgamated regiments.
14th/20th King’s Hussars / Royal Air Force Gatow
The Berlin Luft (Spirit of Berlin), composed by Carl Emil and Paul Lincke, is a marching song from the operetta Frau Luna and became popular after it was produced in 1899. At the end of WW2 the British established Royal Air Force Gatow, an air terminal in Berlin and adopted this march. The march was adopted by two other units also station in Berlin. The Independence Squadron (1952 – 1957) was raised specifically to garrison Berlin and the 14th/20th King’s Hussars ‘B’ Squadron prior to the 1992 amalgamation that formed the King’s Own Hussars.
The Black Bear
Gordon Highlanders / Royal Gurkha Rifles / Royal Scots / Royal Scots Dragoon Guards / Scots Guards
The origins of this march are not well known or documented however it is considered a Highland Tune of Glory. Today it can be heard just about everywhere there is a bagpipe playing. Several regiments have used the march such as Royal Scots Dragoon Guards in combination with Scotland the Brave; the Royal Scots for a ‘C’ Company march; the Scots Guards for their 1st Bn Headquarter Company; prior to amalgamation Gordon Highlanders for ‘D’ Company march and the Royal Gurkha Rifles as a regimental march past.
Royal Northumberland Fusiliers
The tune, originally composed in 1862 for could pre date 1862, is known as the national anthem of Tyneside. Located on the river is the city of Newcastle and just five miles from there is the village of Blaydon. The Royal Northumberland Fusiliers adopted the tune in combination with The British Grenadiers in 1959 as a quick step. The march did not survive when the regiment was amalgamated in 1968 amalgamation to form The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers.
Blow Away the Morning Dew
(The Cobbler’s Lad amd The Baffled Knight)
Royal Military School of Music
This march is one of the traditional English songs that became popular in America with different versions in the lyrics. It has had two other titles - The Cobbler’s Lad and The Baffled Knight. The march is combined with Near London Town that was adopted by the Royal Military School of Music in 1950. Prior to its adoption, the School had been playing Rule Britannia before the National Anthem during their concerts. The Corps of Army Music was formed in 1994 and is based at Kneller Hall near Twickenham. It is responsible for the professional efficiency and future development of the Corps of Army Music, which includes the recruitment of musicians, the manning and deployment of bands and the career management and appointment of Corps personnel.
Blue Bonnets are over the Border
(All the Blue Bonnets are over the Border / Leven's March / General Leslie’s March to Longmarston Moor)
4th Canadian Pioneer Battalion CEF / 82nd Battalion CEF (Calgary Light Infantry) / 16th Battalion CEF / 67th Battalion CEF / 185th Cape Breton Highlanders Battalion CEF / Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) / Calgary Highlanders / Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) / Highland Light Infantry (City of Glasgow) / King’s Own Scottish Borderers / Royal Canadian Regiment / Royal Highland Fusiliers / Scots Guards / Seaforth Highlanders of Canada / Toronto Scottish Regiment / Wiltshire Regiment (Duke of Edinburgh’s)
Blue Bonnets refers to a blue woolen cap worn in 17th century Scotland. The poem reflects the continuous border battles waged by England and Scotland during this time. One such group of Lowland Scots marauders, Moss Troopers, used this tune as a rallying call. These Scottish warriors would attack across the border that had been was contested for centuries.
The title can also be known as All the Blue Bonnets are over the Border, with Leven's March being the shorten version which was used by the Earl of Leven's Regiment in 1689. Its origin is unknown however the lyrics are by Sir Walter Scott in his poem Border Ballad. It would appear that the words were written to fit the music with the line All the Blue Bonnets are over the Border' appearing at the end of each verse. The march was at one time also known as General Leslie’s March to Longmarston Moor that would date the tune around 1644 but it could be older.
The old 25th Regiment of Foot adopted the tune when garrisoned on the border at Berwick-on-Tweed in Scotland. They later they became the King’s Own Scottish Borderers retaining it as a quick march for both the pipe and drums and military bands.
The 74th Regiment of Foot was raised in 1787 later becoming in 1881 the 2nd Bn The Highland Light Infantry (City of Glasgow). The march was adopted during the 1950 amalgamation with the Royal Scots Fusiliers forming the Royal Highland Fusiliers. The 2nd Bn Wiltshire Regiment (99th Foot) used the tune but did not survive the 1959 amalgamation when the Duke of Edinburgh Royal Regiment was formed.
Other regiments include the Black Watch for their bands quick march; 7th Duke of Edinburgh’s Own Gurkha Rifles for their bands prior to amalgamation; the Scots Guards as a half-hour to Commanding Officer’s Parade call; Canadian regiments include the Toronto Scottish Regiment, the Canadian Scottish Regiment and their WW1 CEF battalion the 16th 67th and the 4th Canadian Pioneer, the Calgary Highlanders (combine with The Highland Laddie), the Seaforth Highlanders of Canada (combined with The Piobaireachd of Donald Dhu) and the Royal Canadian Regiment as their Commanding Officers Call; and the 185th Cape Breton Highlanders Battalion CEF for the pipe band as did the 82nd Battalion CEF (Calgary Light Infantry).
Blue Canadian Rockies
Rocky Mountain Rangers
The Rocky Mountain Rangers used the march before adopting Meeting of the Waters. The regiment was raised at Nelson, British Columbia in 1908 when three existing independent infantry companies were amalgamated to form the 102nd Regiment. When the regiment moved to Kamloops the title was changed to the 102nd Regiment “Rocky Mountain Rangers” followed by today’s title in 1920 and continues to serve in the Canadian Forces Reserves.
4th Royal Tank Regiment
In May 1916 ‘D’ Company, Heavy Section, Machine Gun Corps were raised at the Motor Machine Gun Service Depot at Bisley, Surrey. A year later the name changed to the ‘D’ Battalion Tank Corps with ‘Royal’ being added in 1923 followed by another name change at the end of WW2 to the 4th Royal Tank Regiment. The 4th RTR adopted the march composed by Major Bill Lemon with the title derived from the blue braid worn the epaulettes of the service uniform.
An Army Order in April 1900 stated "Her Majesty the Queen having deemed it desirable to commemorate the bravery shown by the Irish Regiments during the operations in South Africa in the years 1899-1900 has been graciously pleased that an Irish Regiment of Foot Guards be formed, to be designated the 'Irish Guards.” When the order was issued the War office issued a letter stating that the new regiment would be incorporated into the Brigade of Guards. Recruiting began in Ireland and Scotland and Irishmen serving in other regiments of the British Army were offered a bounty to transfer to the new regiment.
This march was specifically composed for the Irish Guards by Lieutenant Colonel C. H. Jaeger and refers to colour of the plume worn in their bearskins hat. The bearskin is adorned with a light blue plume worn on the right side. In 1916 soldiers were being issued the new Brodie pattern helmet to replace the soft cloth caps worn in combat to that time. Regimental identification took many forms not all official. Records state that a blue plume was painted on the right side of the helmet to remind the men of the blue plume on their ceremonial bearskins left at home.
Bold King's Hussars
15th The King’s Hussars / 15th-19th The King's Royal Hussars
The 15th The King’s Hussars used the march before the 1922 amalgamation with the 19th Hussars. When the 15th /19th The King's Royal Hussars were formed the tune was retained as part of the quick march which is a combination of The Bold King's Hussars (includes Logie O’Bruchan) / The Sahagun Song / Haste to the Wedding) as arranged by Bandmaster Fox and revised by his successor Bandmaster Leonard Cox. The regiment was amalgamated in 1992 with the 13th/18th Royal Hussars (Queen Mary's Own) to form The Light Dragoons at which time the march was not adopted in favour of Balaclva.
Bonnets of Blue
2nd Battalion Queen’s Own Royal West Kent Regiment
The 2nd Battalion, Queen’s Own Royal West Kent Regiment used this Scottish tune as a quick march and is sometimes confused with the more popular Blue Bonnets Over The Border. In 1961 amalgamation forming the Queen’s Own Buffs, The Royal Kent Regiment the march was not adopted in favour of the combination of The Buffs and A Hundred Pipers.
This ballad begins: 'Noo I'll sing ye a sang in praise o' that land, / Where the snaw melts on the mountains so grand' and was published by the Poet's Box of Dundee. The ballad sings the praises of the Royal Highland Regiment, better known as the Black Watch, who wore small round blue bonnets. It concerns an incident during the Crimean War, 1854-6, when Queen Victoria sent her 'lads wi' the Bonnets o' Blue' 'up the Alma's grim heights for tae conquror or die'. Such spelling errors are common in broadsides, where accuracy was often compromised in the rush to get the material to press.
The Dundee Poets’ Box was in operation from about 1880 to 1945, though it is possible that some material was printed as early as the 1850s. In 1885 the proprietor J.G. Scott (182 Overgate) had published a catalogue of 2,000 titles consisting of included humorous recitations, dialogues, temperance songs, medleys, parodies, love songs, Jacobite songs. Another proprietor in the 1880s was William Shepherd, but little is known about him. Poets’ Box was particularly busy on market days and feeing days when country folk were in town in large numbers. Macartney specialised in local songs and bothy ballads. Many Irish songs were published by the Poets’ Box – many Irishmen worked seasonally harvesting potatoes and also in the jute mills. In 1906 John Lowden Macartney took over as proprietor of the Poet’s Box, initially working from 181 Overgate and later from no.203 and 207.
It is not clear what the connection between the different Poet’s Boxes were. They almost certainly sold each other’s sheets. It is known that John Sanderson in Edinburgh often wrote to the Leitches in Glasgow for songs and that later his brother Charles obtained copies of songs from the Dundee Poet’s Box. There was also a Poet’s Box in Belfast from 1846 to 1856 at the address of the printer James Moore, and one at Paisley in the early 1850s, owned by William Anderson.
Early ballads were dramatic or humorous narrative songs derived from folk culture that predated printing. Originally perpetuated by word of mouth, many ballads survive because they were recorded on broadsides. Musical notation was rarely printed, as tunes were usually established favourites. The term 'ballad' eventually applied more broadly to any kind of topical or popular verse.
Bonnet Trimmed in Blue
The Irish Fusiliers of Canada
The 11th Regiment, Irish Fusiliers of Canada was formed in 1913 with the title changed to the Irish Fusiliers of Canada in 1920 adopting this march. In 1936 the regiment amalgamated with the Vancouver Regiment (Scotland the Brave and Colonel Bogey) to form the Irish Fusiliers of Canada (Vancouver Regiment) taking as the regimental march the combination of Garry Owen and St. Patrick’s Day.
1st Hussars / 2nd Dragoons / 8th Reconnaissance Regiment / 10th Brant Dragoons / 14th Canadian Hussars / 14th Canadian Hussars / 14th Canadian Light Horse / 15th/19th Hussars / 17th/21st Lancers / 19th (Central Ontario) Battalion CEF / 77th Battalion CEF / 173rd Battalion CEF (Canadian Highlanders) / Brockville Rifles / Glengarry Regiment / Gordon Highlanders / Guards Depot / King’s Own Scottish Borderers / Loyal Edmonton Regiment / Manitoba Mounted Rifles / Queen’s Royal Regiment / Queen’s Royal Surrey Regiment / Royal Canadian Horse Artillery / Royal Canadian Hussars (Montreal) / Royal Canadian Regiment / Royal Highland Fusiliers / Royal New Brunswick Regiment / Royal Regiment of Artillery / Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery / Royal Scots Dragoon Guards / Royal Scots Greys / Scots Guards / Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders / Stormont and Glengarry Regiment
Introduced into Canada by Scottish settlers, it represents the spirit of Scottish Clan Chieftains to master their clansmen and rally at their leaders’ call to arms. There are eleven verses in the original song by Sir Walter Scott and the tune was first published in London around 1854. The music refers to the City of Dundee on the east coast of Scotland.
Bonnie Dundee was one of the original fifty marches chosen as a Cavalry Regimental Gallop by the British War Office and was approved for use on April 1st, 1883. This march is 16 bars in its entirety with no real subdominant chord (Ab in the key of Eb), but with a series of four bar phrases. It has the distinction of being usable either with horses, or as a traditional march past and is very effective when performed by a military band and pipes and drums. Captain John Slatter, Director of Music of the 48th Highlanders of Canada for over 50 years, is credited with this arrangement for military band.
The march had been for many years incorporated in the ceremonial parade music of the Queen’s Royal Regiment. It had been played while the Adjutant collected reports for the Commanding Officer. It may have been introduced via the 2nd Battalion that in its early days was commanded by Colonel Bruce a former officer in the Highland Light Infantry. The march was omitted in the 1958 a list of marches for the Queen’s Royal Surrey Regiment submitted to Major General JY Whitfield, Colonel of the Regiment, for his approval. When asked it was stated that it was highly unlikely an Adjutant would gallop on parade to collect reports again. The Colonel disagreed and insisted that it be included. At Bury St. Edmunds on the first parade of the of the regiment the Adjutant, Captain Mike Pereira, ordered the Band to play this tune and pedaled on parade mounted on a very ancient bicycle and solemnly collected reports from the companies.
The 15th/19th Hussars at one time used the march as a canter as did the the Royal Scots Greys until 1971 when they became the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards; the Gordon Highlanders SP Company (prior to amalgamation) as a quick march; and the Royal Horse Artillery as a gallop.
In Canada the Brockville Rifles used the tune as their regimental march along with Greensleeves (unofficial); the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders were formed in 1922 and adopted it from its predecessor Stormont and Glengarry Regiment; the 2nd Dragoons and the 10th Brant Dragoons adopted the march and used it until their amalgamation in 1936 to form the 2nd/10th Dragoons. At this time the march was dropped in favour of Annie Laurie; the 14th Canadian Hussars adopted on its formation when the 14th Canadian Light Horse was renamed in 1940 and its even through the war as the 8th Reconnaissance Regiment (14th Canadian Hussars). The name changed back to the original until its placement on the Supplementary Order of Battle in 1965.
The 2nd Battalion, The Royal New Brunswick Regiment adopted it as a slow march; the Loyal Edmonton Regiment (4th Bn PPCLI) adopted it on its formation in 1943 when the Edmonton Regiment was designated with the present title; the 1st Hussars date back to 1856 but when the march was adopted in unknown as is the case of the 14th Canadian Hussars; the Royal Canadian Hussars (Montreal) use it for their ‘A’ Squadron; both the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery and the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery use the march as a canter as do the Royal Regiment of Artillery in UK and the Royal Canadian Regiment play it as their Fist Parade/Return to Duty call; and the Manitoba Mounted Rifles use the march from their beginning in 1920 until their conversion to artillery in 1946. The 77th CEF Battalion (GGFG) used the march during its short duration from formation to its break up in England during WW1 as did the 19th (Central Ontario) Battalion and the 173rd Battalion both of the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders.
Bonnie English Rose
(The Rose of England / Our Bonnie English Rose)
19th Regiment of Foot / The Green Howards
First published in 1858 as the Rose of England with music by Charles Jeffreys and words by Sidney Nelson, it reflects the Yorkshire spirit. In 1868 the song became very popular with the officers of the 19th Foot serving in India and was adopted as a quick march as arranged by regiment’s bandmaster Mr. Antcliffe. The regiment would later become known as the Green Howards with an interesting note that their badge has the white Rose of York that provides a probable association with the piece. It is also said that the adjutant at the time, Lieutenant Moir, was particularly keen on the song and that the Band played it on his urging. The march is still in use today by the present regiment but not as a regimental march. The Green Howards in 2006 became the 2nd Battalion, The Yorkshire Regiment. The other regiments that were amalgamated were The Prince of Wales's Own Regt of Yorkshire and The Duke of Wellington's Regiment. This march did not survive the amalgamation in favour of the quick march Ça Ira and the slow march The Duke of York.
Bonnie Mary of Argyll
91st Regiment of Foot
In 1850 Charles Jeffries and Sydney Nelson composed and wrote the words to this famous folk tune. Mary of Argyll has often been confused with the Mary remembered in a statue near the pier at Dunoon in Argyll. The 'Mary' referred to in the 'Highland Mary' was the beloved of Robert Burns and died young. The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders began in 1794 as the 98th (Argyllshire) Regiment of Foot and four years later adopted the title 91st Regiment of Foot. The regiment used the march until it became, in 1921, The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise’s) and at that time was it was discontinued in favour of Alford’s famous march The Thin Red Line.
Royal Army Medical Corps
The old English song apparently refers to Nell Gwynne an actress during the period of Charles II when she was at the height of her career. Chappell states the tune was originally a ballad tune, though the words had been lost by his time. He found a few references to the ballad, one as early as 1622 when it was mentioned in The Anatomie of the English Nunnery at Lisbon and the melody appears in Apollo's Banquet for the Treble Violin (1670).
The arrangement is by Bandmaster J. Campbell of the 2nd Battalion The Duke of Cornwall’s Light Infantry. It is interesting to note that the Washington Post March was the first Regimental March of the Royal Army Medical Corps. In 1914 it was replaced by Her Bright Smile Haunts Me Still and again in 1923 with Bonnie Nell. In 1948 a competition was held to finalize the march for the Corps. The quick march became an arrangement by Major JA Thornburrow of the 17th century song Here’s A Health Unto His Majesty while the slow march Her Bright Smile Haunts Me Still.
The King’s Own Scottish Borderers
Little is known about the music once used by the King’s Own Scottish Borderers that were raised in Edinburgh on March 19, 1689 as the Earl of Leven’s Regiment later the 25th Regiment of Foot. In 1887 the King’s Own Scottish Borderers were formed and did not amalgamated until 2006 when they were joined with five other famous Scottish Regiments. The march did not survive the transition in favour of Scotland the Brave.
Boys of the Old Brigade
The Royal Hospital Chelsea
The Boys of the Old Brigade is an Irish Republican folk song about the Irish Republican Army of the Irish War of Independence 1919-1921. The song consists of a father, a veteran of the Easter Rising of Irish Republicans, telling his son nostalgically about his old comrades on Easter Sunday. Easter Sunday, the anniversary of the Easter Rising is the Republican day of commemoration for those who died in the service of Republican ideals. The song is sentimental rather than aggressive in tone and each chorus ends with the Irish language phrase a ghra ' mo chroi (love in my heart), I long to see, the Boys of the Old Brigade".
The Royal Hospital Chelsea is a retirement home and nursing home for British soldiers who are unfit for further duty due to injury or old age, located in the Chelsea region of central London. There are over 300 soldiers resident in the Royal Hospital, referred to as ‘in-pensioners’ or Chelsea pensioners.
The Royal Warrant issued in 1681 by King Charles II gave the start to the Royal Hospital Chelsea. It was originally to make provision for old or injured soldiers. Many of these soldiers, who were no longer fit for service, had been kept on regimental rolls so that they could continue to receive payment, because there was an inadequate provision of pensions for them. Sir Christopher Wren was commissioned to design and erect the building. His design was based on the Hôpital des Invalides in Paris. The site was an area of Chelsea that held an incomplete building — "Chelsey College", a theological college founded by James I in 1610. Charles II donated it to the Royal Society in 1667, but since the Society had been unable to find a suitable use for the site, the King repurchased it in February 1682 to provide the site for the Hospital.
Construction took place at a rapid pace and by the time of Charles II's death, in 1685, the main hall and chapel of the Hospital had already been completed. The first patients included those injured at the Battle of Sedgemoor. In 1686, Wren expanded his original design to add two additional quadrangles to the east and west of the central court. Work was completed in 1692, and the first in-pensioners were admitted in February 1692. By the end of March that year the capacity of 476 former soldiers were in residence. In 1694 a Royal Charter was established for a direct naval equivalent to the Royal Hospital Chelsea. Building began in 1696 on the Greenwich Hospital, and it opened in 1705. Because of its elevation, from 1796 to 1816 the Royal Hospital Chelsea hosted a station in the shutter telegraph chain that connected the Admiralty in London to its naval ships in Portsmouth. In 1809, Sir John Soane designed and constructed a new infirmary building, with space for 80 patients, located to the west of the Hospital building on the site of the current National Army Museum. The infirmary was damaged by bombing in the Second World War and later demolished. In 2002, the Sovereign's Mace was presented to the Hospital — up until then, the Hospital had had no colours or distinctive device — the Mace is now carried at all the ceremonial events at the Hospital.
Boys of Wexford
Irish Guards / Royal Munster Fusiliers (1st & 2nd Bn)
County Wexford is located in the south- east corner of Ireland with the coastline touching both the Irish and Celtic Seas. The name derives from Waesfjoed, in Norse meaning estuary of mud flats. It was the first part of Ireland to be invaded by Anglo-Normans in 1169 and was subjugated by Oliver Cromwell in 1649. Wexford was one of the centers of the Irish rebellion of 1798 when insurgent pikemen fought heroically against overwhelming odds.
Composed by Robert Dwyer Joyce the songs and the regimental march version were used by both battalions of the Royal Munster Fusiliers. The regiment began in 1756 as the Bengal European Regiment (Honourable East India Company) adopting the title fusiliers in 1846 and finally the Royal Munster Fusiliers 1st and 2nd Battalions in 1881. When the Irish Free State was formed in 1922 the regiment was disbanded which ended a long a distinguished service.
The Irish Guards were formed in 1900 by Queen Victoria to commemorate the bravery of many Irish regiments in the South African campaigns. The Regiment is one of five regiments in the Guards Division and came by recognized by the famous St. Patrick’s plume on the right side of their bearskin. The regiment adopted this march their Number Two Company.
Boys Won’t Leave the Girls Alone
East Yorkshire Regiment (The Duke of York’s Own)
Formed in 1685 as the Clifton’s Regiment, The East Yorkshire Regiment (The Duke of York’s Own) used this march until the adoption of The Lincolnshire Poacher and finally the Yorkshire Lass. The East Yorkshires adopted this title in 1881 until 1935 when granted the secondary title The Duke of York’s Own was approved. The march did not survive the 1958 amalgamated forming The Prince of Wales’s Own Regiment of Yorkshire that adopted the new march titled The Prince of Wales’s Own Regiment of Yorkshire by the Bandmaster Pinkney using Ca Ira and The Yorkshire Lass. The 2010 list of marches showed the marches to be The Farmer’s Boy combined with Soldiers of the Queen.
20th Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force / Queen's Rangers / The Queen’s Regiment / Queen's Royal (West Surrey) Regiment/ Queen's York Rangers, 1st American Regiment / Royal Navy Naval Gunnery School
In 1903, the Queen's Royal (West Surrey) Regiment adopted this tune shortly after the Commanding Officer received permission to use it from the Portuguese Embassy. The Regiment had a special connection with Queen Catherine of Braganza (Portugal). Its forerunner, The Queen's Royal West Surrey Regiment was the oldest English infantry unit, being raised to garrison Tangier in 1661 under the name of The Queen's Tangier Regiment. The town, along with Bombay, formed part of the dowry of Catherine of Braganza, the daughter of the King of Portugal, on her marriage to Charles II. It is believed the march and cap badge apply to Catherine of Braganza, however she had no influence on them.
For nearly a century its first battalion had been using The Old Queen’s in which the national anthem God Save the Queen was included. In 1881 when they paraded for Queen Victoria and the Duke of Cambridge the Queen inquired if permission had been given to include it the march. She directed that if it had not been the practice would stop. At this time major changes where taking place in the British Army and one of the changes was directed at the marches and in some cases dealt with quite brutally. It was felt that the use of a National Anthem should not be played as a regimental march. Complying with the order to stop, the Regiment began looking for a new march and this Portuguese tune was chosen with the name Braganza.
This tune is generally stated to be unknown origins however some research has shown that the initial subject of the march is simply a free adaptation of the air O Patria that was the Portuguese National Anthem of the time. This was composed in 1822 by Don Pedro I of Brazil (formerly King Pedro IV of Portugal) and remained in use as the National Anthem of Portugal until the country became a republic.
This Portuguese tune lends itself very well to a military march with the opening bars appearing to be a trumpet call similar to the Gloucestershire Regimental Call of 1927. If you listen carefully to this march in the last strain one can clearly hear the Royal Marines A Life on the Ocean Wave. This was inserted because the Royal West Surrey Regiment served as Marines at one time. In 1959 The Queen's Royal Surrey Regiment was formed from the amalgamation of The Queen's Royal Regiment (West Surrey), and The East Surrey Regiment then again in 1966 to form the Queen’s Regiment. This lasted until 1992 when again they were amalgamated and this march was not adopted on the formation of the Princess of Wales's Royal Regiment (Queen's and Royal Hampshires).
HMS Excellent inherited the traditions of Queen Charlotte, of Glorious First of June fame, and consequently has always had close association with what was the 1st Queen’s. She later became the Naval Gunnery School at Whale Island, Portsmouth and adopted this march.
During World War One, the 20th Battalion, CEF, fought alongside the Queen's Royal Surrey (West Surrey) Regiment. In 1927, the Queen's Rangers adopted the lanyard, facings and this march of the Queen’s and formed an alliance a year later. In 1936, the amalgamation of The York Rangers and The Queen's Rangers formed The Queen's York Rangers, 1st American Regiment and the march was retained.
Brian O’Lynn Breeches
See – Kynegad Slashers
Bravest of the Brave
The Royal Gurkha Rifles
The Royal Gurkha Rifles is a regiment of the British Army that is unique in that it recruits Gurkhas from Nepal, which is a nation independent of the UK and not a member of the Commonwealth. The regiment was formed in 1994 from the amalgamation of the four separate Gurkha regiments in the British Army: 2nd King’s Edward VII’s Own Gurkha Rifles, 6th Queen Elizabeth’s Own Gurkha Rifles, 7th Duke of Edinburgh’s Own Rifles and the 10th Princess Mary’s Own Gurkha Rifles. In December 1995 Lieutenant-Colonel Bijaykumas Rawat became the commanding officer of the 1st Battalion, the first Nepalese to become a battalion commander in the RGR. He oversaw the departure of the battalion from Hong Kong just before its transfer to Chinese control, and the battalion's relocation to Church Crookham, Hampshire in 1996. Their motto is 'It's better to die than to be a coward'. This new march refelcts the fighting spirit and fierce repuation of very bravce soldeirs.
Bravo, Dublin Fusiliers
The Royal Dublin Fusiliers
This was a successful music hall song from the turn of the century composed by G. D. Wheeler in celebration of The Royal Dublin Fusilier’s action at the Battle of Talana. The regiment formed in 1648 as the Madras European Regiment and finally Royal Dublin Fusiliers in 1881 after several name changes spread over 233 years. In 1922 when the Irish Free State was formed the regiment was disbanded ending a long and proud record of service.
King’s Royal Rifle Corps
This German march was used by the 3rd Battalion KRRC to march past in quarter column. In 1958 they became the 2nd Green Jackets, The King's Royal Rifle Corps then in 1966 united with 1st Green Jackets (43rd and 52nd) and 3rd Green Jackets (The Rifle Brigade) to form The Royal Green Jackets. It was at this time the march was not adopted in favour of the combination of Huntsman's Chorus/Italian Song. Today the regiment is The Rifles using the quick march Mechanised Infantry.
Brigade March of the 56th French Brigade
47th Battalion Canadian Expeditionary Force
This march was used by the 47th Battalion CEF authorized in July 1915 and went overseas in November being assigned to the 10th Brigade of the 4th Canadian Division and is perpetuated by The Royal Westminster Regiment.
‘C’ Company of the London Regiment / Canadian Grenadier Guards / Grenadier Guards / Honourable Artillery Company / Princess Louise Fusiliers / Royal Artillery / Royal Engineers / Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment) / Royal Gibraltar Regiment / Royal Highland Fusiliers / Royal Marines / Royal Military Academy – Sandhurst / Royal Northumberland Fusiliers / Royal Regiment of Canada / Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery / Royal Regiment of Fusiliers / Royal Scots Fusiliers / Royal Welch Fusiliers / Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment CASF / West Toronto Regiment / Winnipeg Grenadiers
William Chappell wrote in 1859, “Next to the National Anthem, there is not any tune of a more spirit-stirring character, nor is any more truly characteristic of English national music.” When Charles II was restored to the throne in 1660 he decided that a regiment be raised for his personal protection that would become over time First Regiment of Foot Guards until 1815 when the present title, The Grenadier Guards, was granted after the Battle of Waterloo. It was during this battle that Guards held their positions even after repeated French attacks. This feat of beating Napoleon’s finest infantry was commemorated by the present title being awarded. It was published in the London Gazette of 29July 1815: “HRH (the Prince Recent) has been pleased to approve of the 1st Regiment of Foot Guards being made a Regiment of Grenadiers, and styled ‘The 1st or Grenadier Regiment of Foot Guards,’ in commemoration of their having defeated the Grenadiers of the French Imperial Guards upon this memorable occasion”. There is no better known regimental march and none that closely applies to a particular regiment as it has become inseparably connected.
Although the music may have existed around the time of Queen Elizabeth (1558-1603) the British Army did not have Grenadiers until the mid 17th century. The song The British Grenadiers was first performed orally at Covent Garden in 1780 at the time of the victory of Savannah were British forces defeated the American's during the War of Independence. The earliest version found ended With the noble Duke of Cumberland, And the British Grenadiers different that the version used today.
The march also had great popularity during the Napoleonic War and was also used in Canada at the same time. In two cases the march was played at the capture of Fort Detroit and Niagara. A Canadian volunteer, Charles Askin, described the American capitulation of Detroit on August 16th, 1812 After the Americans had marched out, the Grenadiers and Light Infantry of the 41st Regt, and Volunteers in that Regt..marched into the Fort, with Drum and fife, to the Tune of British Grandadiers. I usr say that I never felt so proud, as I did just then”.
On December 18th, 1813 the British took Fort Niagara. The drummers of the 100th Regiment mounted the roof of a building and played this tune as a signal to British troops on the Canadian side of the river that the assault had been successful.
Just after the beginning of WW1 during the Retreat from Mons, some 400 stragglers from the British Army wandered into St. Quentin where they found Major Bridges. All the men were very exhausted and unable to continue from the continuous marching and fighting. The major tried just about every thing to get them moving even telling them that the enemy was close and they were close to being captured. No effect. He had to get them moving and recalled how the bands had inspirited troops. He noticed a toy shop close by and brought a tin whistle and toy drum. Giving the whistle to his trumpeter and himself on the drum then began playing some well known tunes which included British Grenadiers, Tipperary and other airs. The men could not help but laugh and got up, fell in and marched away singing with the improvised band being accompanied by a couple of mouth organs. All would eventually join their regiments. Sir Henry Newbolt was very taken by the episode he wrote a poem of it called The Toy Band. Later Sir Richard Paget would write the music. The first four lines of the third verse clearly demonstrates just how the simplest music can inspire men: Cheerily goes the dark road, cheerily goes the night / Cheerily goes the blood to keep the beat / Half a thousand dead men marching on to fight / With a little penny whistle to lift their feet.
Regiments, such as The Royal Artillery, The Royal Engineers, The Grenadier Guards and all Fusiliers regiments of the British Army had the flaming grenade as part of their dress. In 1835, regiments were authorized to play The British Grenadiers before any other regimental march. The Royal Military Academy - Sandhurst adopted the tune but for what reason there appears to be none; ‘C’ Company of the London Regiment adopted it as a company tune; prior to 1881 each Division of the Royal Marines had its own march which changed as new commanders were appointed. This tune was one of the more popular choices along with Dashing White Sergeant and Le Prophet. Today the Royal Engineers combine it with Wings.
The Royal Artillery, for over a hundred years, has used it as their official march past with Kenneth Alford's march Voice of the Guns as an unofficial counterpart. Lt. Col. Stan Patch arranged the two tunes into one when Senior Director of Music for the Royal Artillery. It was first publicly performed and adopted at Woolwich on 14 April 1983. In the old Robert Collin’s Fife Books (1806-34) are two totally different marches called British Grenadiers, both of which seems to have been used among other marches in this collection without any special regimental significance. James Lawson stated that the present day version was adopted by the Artillery through a mistake. The story goes that an old Peninsular and Waterloo officer of the Regiment, who was on a visit to Woolwich, asked the Bandmaster why he did not play the Grenadier’s March as the Artillery march past. The Bandmaster replied, thinking that the officer meant British Grenadier, that the latter was not recognized as the regimental march, but only as one of many used by the band. He promised the old officer, however, that he would hear this march the next time he paid a visit to the regiment. From that day this tune became the accepted regimental march, whereas the truth is that the old officer had the early (Train of) Artillery Grenadiers March of the 18th century in mind. That the present British Grenadiers was recognized as the regimental march quite early may be gathered from the fact that Smyth introduced it into his Royal Artillery Galop (ca 1855). The melody of the British Grenadiers is an old one. As a song, to those well-known words, it dates from 1799, when it was sung in Charles Dibdin’s Harlequin Everywhere, although it was not published in that score.
The Honourable Artillery Company (HAC) is the oldest surviving regiment in the British Army and the second most senior in the Territorial Army and is not part of the Royal Artillery but a separate regiemnt.
The Royal Gibraltar Regiment is the home defence unit for the British overseas territory of Gibraltar. It was formed in 1958 from the Gibraltar Defence Force as an infantry unit, with an integrated artillery troop. Initially a reserve force, on the withdrawal of the British Army garrison from the colony in 1991, it was placed on the British Army's regular establishment attached to British Forces Gibraltar. In 1999 the regiment was granted the Royal title. The regiment also has responsibility for the Ceremony of the Keys in Gibraltar.
In Canada the march was used several regiments - the Royal Regiment of Canada combine this tune with Here's to the Maiden. The march was carried over from its predecessor The Royal Regiment of Toronto Grenadiers; the Canadian Grenadier Guards are allied with their English counterparts The Grenadier Guards thus using the same marches; the Princess Louise Fusiliers can trace their roots back to 1749 when Admiral Cornwallis ordered the formation of ten companies. The first authorization of the title Princess Louis Fusiliers was in 1879 with the present title being adopted in 1958. The march is still used today and may have been selected due to its popularity at the time; prior to the 1925 amalgamation the West Toronto Regiment had used the march but it did not survive the amalgamation when they became the Queen’s Rangers and later the Queen’s York Rangers which adopted Braganza; the Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment CASF used the march prior their 1946 disbandment; the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery continues to use the march as a dismounted Regimental quick march through their alliance with the Royal Artillery and the Winnipeg Grenadiers until disbandment in 1965.
The Bronze Horse
55th Regiment of Foot
The 55th Regiment of Foot, raised in 1755, saw service in Canada (1757-60) and took part in the campaigning during the American War of Independence. They had used this march, along with The Lass of Gowrie up to 1881 when they amalgamation with the 34th to form The Border Regiment that adopted the march John Peel.
Brose and Butter
(The Peacock Followed/Follows the Hen and Cuddle Me, Cuddy, Yellow Stockings, Mad Moll, Up and Down Again and The Virgin Queen )
Most Highland Regiments / Royal Canadian Regiment
The melody is still used as a mess call in Highland regiments and the Royal Canadian Regiment for the pipes meal call. The tunes is also known as The Peacock Followed/Follows the Hen and Cuddle Me, Cuddy, Yellow Stockings, Mad Moll, Up and Down Again and The Virgin Queen. According to Ford (Song Histories, 1900, pgs. 189-190) Brose and Butter was a favourite air of Charles II in his exile. Despite the reference to the king, that would date it to the 1640’s, a printed version does not appear until Robert Bremner's 1757 collection. Brose is Scottish dish made with a boiling liquid and meal. Origins of the term are unclear, although it is suggested that perhaps it is an alteration of the Scots bruis broth, from Middle English brewes, from Old French broez, nominative singular of broet, diminutive of breu broth (see also note for “Atholl Brose”).
This march is believed to have been composed by the Marchioness of Tullibaroine, is today it is used by the Scots Guards for the 2nd Battalion, G Company.
Brown Haired Maiden
Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders / Black Watch / Queen’s Own Highlanders
One of the most popular songs of the Highlands, this was translated from the Gaelic in the late 19th century by the Scottish poet John Stuart Blackie. This march was used by ‘C’ Companies of the Black Watch and the Queen’s Own Highlanders along with ‘A’ Company of the 1st Bn Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders.
55th Regiment, Megantic Light Infantry
Before their 1912 disbandment the march was used by the 55th Regiment, Megantic Light Infantry (Canadian Militia).
14th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles, Canada / The Buffs (Royal East Kent Regiment) / King’s Own Rifles of Canada / Princess of Wales’ Own Regiment / Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada / Queen’s Regiment
This march is attributed to George Frideric Handel since the second section resembles a theme in his ‘Acis and Galatea.’ It is suggested that Handel took a liking to The Buffs (Royal East Kent Regiment) and wrote this tune for them. The music of a slow march entitled Old Buffs March was discovered in the British museum and there is firm evidence that this was indeed written by Handel and probably accounts for the tradition. Originating in company form around 1572, in the City of London, it would be the nucleus of the British force that would fight in Holland. For the next seventy-five years it helped the Dutch to free themselves from the Spanish Army. Some of the troops became the Holland Regiment, on the English Establishment. Due to the buff facings, breeches, and stockings they were to become known as The Buffs. In 1966 they became the 2nd Battalion The Queen’s Regiment and the combined with A Hundred Pipers to form the new regimental march that was passed down through several amalgamations however was not adopted when The Princess of Wales’s Royal Regiment choosing Soldiers of the Queen.
The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada were formed in 1882 tracing their origins back to 1860. It began using the march after Colonel Otter requested permission from The Buffs to use this tune. In 1910, Colonel Sir Henry Pellat took the Queen’s Own to maneuvers in Aldershot, England to train with the British Army. Both regiments noticed a common march being used and celebrated with mess dinners being held simultaneously - the Buffs at Fermoy, Ireland and the Queen’s Own at the Royal Canadian Military Institute in Toronto; The Princess of Wales’ Own Regiment was formed in 1863 as the 14th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles Canada and may have used the tune since that time; The King’s Own Rifles of Canada also used the tune since their 1924 formation later converting to armour in 1946 as the 20th (Saskatchewan) Armoured Regiment that later became the Saskatchewan Dragoons. Throughout the changes the march was always retained.
The Bugle Horn
Lake Superior Regiment (Motor)
The bugle tune had been used by the Lake Superior Regiment (Motor) until 1949 when they were reorganized as the Lake Superior Scottish Regiment and the highland tune Heiland Laddie was adopted.
Bundle and Go
33 (Halifax) Service Battalion
The 33 (Halifax) Service Battalion was established in 1965, bringing together four companies and a squadron, each with its own unique role and history. Since then the battalion has played a critical role in training and providing Reserve Army personnel for important military operations both at home and abroad. Operating from "Willow Park" in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada they do so with the motto is Peritia Meremur (Service worthy of merit or praise).
14th Regiment of Foot / Princes of Wales's Own Regiment of Yorkshire / Royal Montreal Regiment / West Yorkshire Regiment / The Yorkshire Regiment
The refrain of this song first came into use during the French Revolution with words written by a street singer named Ladre and the music by Mr. M. Becourt. In was first heard and adopted in 1789 proclaiming death to the aristocrats. In 1797 the tune was prohibited although it had given inspiration to the Revolution.
The tune is unique in being the only regimental march earned in battle. In 1794, the 14th Regiment of Foot, later the West Yorkshire Regiment, assaulted the French camp at Famars being defended by Revolutionary troops inspired on by a band playing ‘Ca Ira.’ The British Commander, Colonel Doyle, used the thick fog to cover to maneuver his troops in position and ordered his band to play the same tune. Using the fog and the deception of the music French troops thought that reinforcements had finally arrived and the Yorkshire men quickly overran the French position. In recognition of this action, this tune was authorized as the Regimental March, carried over to the West Yorkshire Regiment and later into The Princes of Wales's Own Regiment of Yorkshire in combination with The Yorkshire Lass. The march was retained during the 2006 formation of the Yorkshire Regiment on the amalgamation of the Princess of Wales’s Own Regiment of Yorkshire, The Duke of Wellington Regiment and The Green Howards.
The Royal Montreal Regiment (RMR) use the march in a composition of God Bless the Prince of Wales, Ça Ira, and since 1958 the Yorkshire Lass. In 1920 they were allied the Prince of Wales's Own Regiment of Yorkshire the old 14th Foot. To mark the affiliation Lt. Colonel Peter Lloyd-Craig, the Commanding Officer of the RMR, adopted the two other marches associated with the Allied Regiment.
The Royal Tank Regiment used My Boy Willie until it was decided that it was too short and Cadet Roussel was added. This tune originated from Cambrai, site of the first tank battle in which tanks were used and was brought to the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst by a Colonel of the Free French Forces after the capitulation of France in 1940. Mr. JL Wallace, the Bandmaster of Sandhurst, composed the arrangement.
(The Queen’s Regiment Slow March, Highland March or The Gaelic March)
57th Regiment of Foot / The Middlesex Regiment (Duke of Cambridge’s Own) / The Queen’s Regiment
Before amalgamation into The Princess of Wales’s Royal Regiment, the 1st Bn Queen’s Regiment used this march since its formation in 1966 inherited from The Middlesex Regiment. It was previously the march of the 57th, having been brought to them by General John Campbell of Strachur, Colonel of the 57th and former commanding officer. The tune had been known by several titles, The Queen’s Regiment Slow March, Highland March or The Gaelic March. When the Princess of Wales’s Royal Regiment was formed the march was dropped in favour of The Minden March.
91st Regiment Foot
The 91st Regiment Foot used the march as far back as 1798. In 1881 they became the Princess Louise’s (Argyll and Sutherland) Highlanders with the present day title granted in 1921 and the march was discontinued.
7th Queen's Own Hussars / 15th/19th Hussars / 58th Compton Regiment / Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders of Canada / Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders / Argyll Light Infantry (Tank) / Lorne Rifles (Scottish) / Lorne Scots / Queen's Own Hussars
This march is one of the most well known Highland regimental marches and combines two important elements; simplicity and brevity and the authorized arrangement is from the Kneller Hall March List of April 1st 1883. Several possible stories about its origin are; used as a tune to gather the Campbell Clan during the Scots rebellion of 1715 or is connected with the imprisonment of Mary Queen of Scots in Lochleven Castle in 1567 and may be of Irish origin. Scottish musician Finlay Dun produced the standardized version during the early part of the nineteenth century.
This song refers to the Campbell Clan of Scotland, the Earls, then later Dukes of Argyll. Clan Campbell occupied Argyll, the biggest mountainous landmass in southwest Scotland. The song makes reference to the pibroch, a warlike air played by bagpipes for an army on the march and the claymore, the famous two-handed Scottish sword. The tune is in Oswald's Caledonian Pocket Companion of 1751 and Bremner's Reels 1761. It appears with Burn's verses in The Scots Musical Museum of 1790 though his name is not attached. The melody is that of an Irish folk song An Seanduine (meaning ‘old man’) probably originating in the glens of West Cork toward the end of the seventeenth century. There had been several variations of the song until it first appeared in print in 1745 at which time it was used as a country dance under the title Hob and Nob with other printings following in 1747, 1756 and 1761. The song may have reached America some time before the California Gold Rush of 1848 during the swells of heavy immigration from the British Isles.
The 7th Queen's Own Hussars adopted it as a regimental Canter until it’s 1958 amalgamation and was retained by The Queen's Own Hussars for the same purpose; the 15th/19th Hussars for dismounted parades; used by the old 93rd Foot pasted onto the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders and today played with Hielan Laddie.
A funny little story pertaining to the march comes from the Black Watch days during the Indian Mutiny. The regiment was told to leave behind their camels, tents and baggage. Later they had been waiting for six hours expecting relief and to brake up the monotony of waiting a piper broke out into The Campbells are Comin’ just as a long string of camels were seen advancing. On realizing the joke both officers and men laughed delightedly.
In Canada the 91st Highlanders and may have adopted the march through the alliance with the Argyl land Sutherland Highlanders; the 58th Compton Regiment adopted this tune until they became the 7th Hussars in 1903; and the Argyll Light Infantry (Tank) used it until conversion to artillery in 1946.
The Lorne Scots, one of the oldest infantry regiments in Canada was formed when The Lorne Rifles (Scottish) (The Campbells are Coming) amalgamated in 1936 with The Peel and Dufferin Regiment (John Peel). In 1879, the Marquis of Lorne, 4th Governor-General of Canada inspected the 20th Halton Rifles and later in 1881, gave permission for the Regiment to use his crest and family heraldry. The march was adopted on November 11, 1881 when he officially associated himself with the regiment. The tune is retained along with John Peel as their regimental marches; in the early days of the Canadian Militia regiment adopted popular tunes of the day.
Canadian Forces Europe
Canadian composer, Bobby Gimby, wrote the song for children in 1967, Canada’s Centennial year. The composer was seen throughout the year with children waving flags and singing this tune from the Atlantic to the Pacific coasts. The tune at one time was used by Canadian Forces Europe but was dropped on the formations disbandment.
Northern Area, headquartered in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, is responsible for four million square kilometers that includes the Yukon and Northwest Territories. It maintains Canadian sovereignty liaise with territorial governments while coordinating and supporting Canadian Forces activities in the North. The Reserve unit known as Canadian Rangers is made up from Inuit, Indian and Metis volunteers who live in this harsh northern environment. They act as guides, advisors and instructors while providing an effective mobile reconnaissance force. Major Bogisch composed the march when he was the Chief Instructor and Standards Officer of the Canadian Forces School of Music prior to his retirement.
Infantry Branch of the Canadian Forces
Canadian infantrymen have a heritage linked to England and France. They have left their mark in two world wars and many peacekeeping commitments with the United Nations. Wherever troops were needed, Canadian infantrymen have been there. When the Canadian Forces were unified, the Infantry Branch and School were created and adopted this quick march. Today, those who serve in the many infantry regiments, Regular and Reserve, throughout Canada do so in the customs and traditions of their ancestors. The march was composed by James Gayfer and is used the Infantry Branch.
3rd Carabiniers (Prince of Wales’s Dragoon Guards)
In 1920 regimental titles were changed effecting forty-five cavalry and infantry regiments of the Regular Army. One regiment was the 6th Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers) later 3rd Carabiniers (Prince of Wales’s Dragoon Guards). This march was used by the regiment as a slow march and composed by Bandmaster H. McEleney who left the regiment in 1877. Their march prior to this was a light infantry tune and used for at least half a century - I’m Ninety-Five.
Land Forces Quebec Area
This march, of French origin, was composed by Laurendeau and is used as a quick march by the Land Forces Quebec. This command is responsible for all Canadian army operations and administration in the region within the province of Quebec and headquartered in Montreal, Quebec.
Cavalry of the Clouds
Royal Air Force / Special Service Force (SSF)
The composer, Kenneth J. Alford, wrote this march in 1923 as a salute to the fledgling Royal Air Force. Before its disbandment in 1976 the Royal Armoured Corps Parachute Squadron had also adopted the march.
The Special Service Force (SSF) was Canada’s immediate response force capable of responding to disasters or emergencies in a national or international situation. Its predecessors the First Special Service Force, better known as the Devils Brigade, was created during WW2 for special operations. The American-Canadian unit became a legend during its short period of existence and was brought to life in the MGM/UA movie of the same name. Prior to disbandment the Canadian Airborne Regiment carried their colours but the motto was carried on by the present day SSF. Used as a quickstep, it may have been adopted due to its lively music and most fitting title.
Canadian Forces Mobile Command / Land Force Command
During the unification of the Canadian Forces Mobile Command was set up to maintain control over the Canadian Army. The name was changed to Land Force Command and the march was retained through the transition. Mr. Pando’s strong use of trumpeting and brass figurations in both the B section and the trio make this an excellent parade march.
Canadian Forces Training System / Canadian Forces Recruiting, Education and Training System
In a world where information and technology rapidly changes, modern and effective training methods are vital to maintain a professional military. Presently, this role is the responsibility of Canadian Forces Training System. They provide all basic training as well as occupational training for the various commands through its many schools staffed by members of the different elements of the Canadian Forces. The title of the march reflects the high standard of training achieved throughout the Canadian Forces. Used as a command quick march, it was written by a former member of the Stadacona Band in Halifax, Ron McAnespie, and was chosen as the winning march during 1967, Canada's centennial year.
11th Hussars (Prince Albert's Own) / 12th Royal Lances (Prince of Wales’s) / 14th/20th Hussars / 21st Lancers (Empress of India’s) / 58th Infantry Regiment (Imperial Austrian Army) / Royal Hussars (Princes of Wales’s Own) / The King’s Royal Hussars
Prince Albert, Prince Consort of Queen Victoria, is believed to have been the actual composer however other sources credit its composition to Michael Haydn, the younger brother of Joseph Haydn. This fine German march was introduced into Britain in 1840 and adopted by two regiments - the 12th Lancers in 1903 and the 11th Hussars (Prince Albert's Own) in 1840.
The march is named after Prince Frederick Josla of Sachsen-Coburg-Saalfeld, who was a Field Marshal in the Austrian Army. In the list of historical marches of the Imperial Austrian Army issued in 1905, this piece is entitled Josias Coburg March. The march was assigned to the 58th Infantry Regiment of the Imperial Austrian Army and in Prussia it was use as the presentation march of the 7th Seyditz Cuirassiers at Halberstadt.
In 1903 the slow march was adopted by the 12th Royal Lancers (Prince of Wales’s) and during 1960 it was combined with Men of Harlech on the formation of the 9th /12th Royal Lancers; the Royal Hussars form in 1969 adopted it as a slow march passed on from the 11th Hussars. In 1840 the 11th had adopted it as a tribute to the Prince Consort the Colonel-in-Chief of the Regiment; the 21st Lancers (Empress of India’s) used it until the formation of the 17th/21st Lancers. The 14th/20th Hussars retained the march on its formation in 1922. The slow march was again retained in 1992 when the regiment amalgamated with the Royal Hussars to form The King's Royal Hussars.
48th Highlanders of Canada / 85th Nova Scotia Highlanders Battalion CEF / Gordon Highlanders / King’s Own Scottish Borderers / Royal Canadian Regiment
The composer is unknown but it is the Duke of Gordon who is referred to as the ‘Cock of the North’. The tune may date from about 1816 when it first appeared as a violin tune. A later publication in a collection of bagpipe music by Donald MacDonald around 1822 gives it the title of Gairm n’an Coileach - The Cock’s Crow.
The 75th Regiment was amalgamated with the 92nd in 1881 to form the 1st and 2nd Battalions of the Gordon Highlanders. The title ‘Gordon’ was assigned to the 92nd that was formed in 1794 by the Duke of Gordon as the 100th (Gordon Highlanders) Regiment of Foot. The Duke was known as Cock o' the North and past on his nickname to the regiment's march. The original march, until 1932, of the Gordon’s was Highland Laddie but was changed to this tune. The march has been especially identified with the Gordons for a long time and has the rare distinction of being mentioned, through not by name, in a Gazette announcement of a Victoria Cross. The Tirah Campaign against the Afridis took place in the mountains west of Peshawar on the Indian Northwest frontier. The campaigned opened with the storming of the Dargai Heights on October 1897. The Afridi tribesmen against convoys and survey parties would continue the war. The country was occupied until the middle of December 1897, but peace was not signed until April 1898. In the storming of Dargai Heights on October 20, 1897, Piper George Findlater was shot through both feet and was unable to stand. He sat up under fire and continued to play this tune encouraging his comrades in the final charge He was awarded the Victoria Cross for his valour. The official statement did not give the name of the tune he played and it still remains in question. Some say it was Haughs of Cromdale (the Regimental Charge-tune), others claim it was The Cock of the North. The Colonel of the Regiment, General Sir Ian Hamilton, brought the matter forward shortly afterwards to ensure it was identified as Cock of the North. Words were later put to the tune reflecting the Piper Findlater’s deeds.
Comin’ tae Dargai, comin’ tae Dargai,
Comin’ tae Dargai heights,
‘Twas there that Piper Findlater fell,
An’ it’s there that he played his pipes.
The King’s Own Scottish Borderers use this famous tune as a Headquarters Company march as do the 48th Highlanders of Canada while the Royal Canadian Regiment adopted it for their Juliet Company. During WW1 the Canada 85th Nova Scotia Highlanders Battalion CEF also used the march.
12th Manitoba Dragoons / 50th Battalion CEF / 75th Battalion CEF/ Calgary Regiment (Tank) / King's Own Calgary Regiment
The story starts in April 1912 when the Argylls (93rd Highlanders) moved from barracks in Glasgow to garrison Fort George near Inverness. Here in the Highlands the most famous Alford march was composed. It was custom of Bandmaster Ricketts to take long daily walks on the Fort George golf course. One of the courses members instead of giving the usual ‘Fore’ whistled the first two notes (B flat and G) that became the first bar of the march. Who the Colonel was remains unknown, but the golf term Bogey was the inspiration for the title. From this brief beginning, the tune was built up into the march that has become famous by the addition of a short introduction. It became a great favourite with the British troops on the march during WW1. Two Canadian CEF battalions adopted this tune at this time the 50th Bn and 75th Bn CEF.
Ray Sonin, a well-known British broadcaster, wrote a song entitled Good Luck (and the same to you’) at the outbreak of World War 2. The trio of the march is used for the verse, while the first statement was adopted for the chorus.
The King's Own Calgary Regiment use this tune as a regimental quick march inherited from their predecessor the Calgary Regiment (Tank). The adoption of the march may have been due to its popularity at the time; the 12th Manitoba Dragoons used the tune until they were placed on the 1965 Supplementary Order of Battle.
In an international popularity poll conducted between 1976 and 1986 by Norman E. Smith (March Music Notes) with 1,000 respondents, Colonel Bogey was fourth on the all time popular list of marches. Today, it remains a popular tune in the repertoire of bands around the world.
Border Regiment / Prince of Wales’s Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians)
This was one of Claribel’s greatest songs and had enormous popularity on both sides of the Atlantic. There is a recording of a barrel organ made by Imhof and Mukle in London which has survived to allow the song to be interpreted as it was over a hundred years ago. Although thought of as a folk tune it is in fact a ballad written by Claribel, the pen name of the London born Mrs. C. Barnard. She was born in 1830 and died in Dover in 1869 and has been credited with being the first composer to receive royalties from the publisher on the sale of the composer’s songs.
The 2nd Battalion The Border Regiment adopted the march on the 1881 amalgamation of the 57th and 34th Regiments of Foot that became the 1st and 2nd Battalions. In 1959 the regiment became the King’s Own Royal Border Regiment and carried over into the new regiment.
The Prince of Wales’s Leinster Regiment combined this tune with The Royal Canadian as a regimental quick march. The regiment adopted the number 100 which had been used by five previous regiments including a Scottish Regiment.
Corps of Army Music
This is an old English convivial song formerly known as The Jolly Fellow. The present words are founded on an old song in Fletcher’s play The Bloody Other, or Robert, Duke of Normandy. It was combined with The Minstrel Boy to form a march for the Corps of Army Music.
22nd Regiment of Foot / South Staffordshire Regiment
The tune is from a vocal dance performed round the village may pole but the air is believed to have first appeared in print around 1672. Prior to amalgamation the 38th Regiment of Foot used Over the Hills and Far Away apiece that was reintroduced as the regimental assembly march in the early 1930s. This 17th century Midland county air was adopted by the South Staffordshire Regiment passed on from the 38th and 80th Foot in 1881. It was combined with The Days We when a' Gypsying (North Staffordshire Regiment) to form the new regimental march The Staffordshire Regiment when the south and north regiments were amalgamated in 1959 forming The Staffordshire Regiment; The 22nd Regiment of Foot used the tune until they became the Cheshire Regiment that continue its use as arranged by W.J. Adams for Trooping the Colour ceremonies.
Communications Command / Defence Information Services Organization
Communications Command was set up during the unification of the Canadian Forces. It is responsible for telecommunications and information processing for the Canadian Forces, government organizations and emergency facilities. Located in Ottawa, it uses various formations throughout the country to supports all levels of command and deployed forces around the world. K. Swanwick composed the march around the time the new command was formed.
The Bruce Regiment was formed in Walkerton, Ontario in 1866 and used the march during its regimental history. Little is known of the march or the composer. The regiment under went several name changes until 1936 when it was converted to artillery as the 21st Field Battery RCA.
3rd Battalion Royal Hampshire Regiment
Once used by the 3rd Battalion (The Hampshire Militia) of the Royal Hampshire Regiment which was formed from the amalgamation of the 37th and 67th Regiments of Foot in 1881. The regimental march of the regiment is The Hampshire and each of the battalions have their own marches: 1st Battalion – The Highland Piper, 2nd Battalion – We’ll gang nae mair to yon youn, 3rd Battalion – Cork Hill.
King’s Own Royal Border Regiment / Royal Lancaster Regiment (King’s Own) / Scots Guards
Several girls claimed to be the original Annie of Burn's song and while no one can be quiet sure who she was, it is thought that the girl who romped in the corn with the poet was the daughter of one his neighbors, a farmer called Rankine. Burns was proud of this early composition and it is one of his most popular songs. The tune appears in various 18th century collections and has Ramsay’s words in Orpheus Caledonius (vol. II #18) and the Scots Musical Museum (vol.1 #93). The words and tune have been generally associated with Scotland, but in fact the piece was initially a Lancashire folk song that first appeared around 1680. Alan Ramsey in 1725 and John Gay in 1729 used it later.
This old song was adopted by the King’s Own Royal Regiment (Lancaster) due to Queen Victoria disliked the march they had been using The Lincolnshire Poacher. The regiment’s name did not change until 1959 when the King’s Own Royal Regiment amalgamated with the Border Regiment forming King’s Own Royal Border Regiment retaining this as a slow march. It is also used by the Scots Guards use it for their Support Company march. The formation of the Royal Regiment of Scotland saw the regiment being amalgamated.
(Begone Dull Care)
1st Canadian Division Headquarters and Signals Regiment / Royal Canadian Corps of Signals / Royal Corps of Signals
Begone Dull Care is used as the basis of the Regimental march of The Royal Corps of Signals. In pre-war days communications was one of the duties of the Royal Engineers. After the new corps was formed it was realized that a new march would have to be found. A letter from Mr. Ricketts states:
“From information received when I joined the royal Signals Band in March 1926, it appeared that in 1924 or 1925 the Corps Committee offered a prize of 50 for the composition of a suitable Regimental March. There were some 140 entries, and I understand that the members of the Corps went to Kneller Hall to hear the marches (played by the Kneller Hall Band) which were submitted.
The march finally chosen was an arrangement by Dr. Charles Wood of two folk songs - Begone Dull Care (1689) and Newcastle (of a much later date). Some extraneous matter of lesser consequence was included in the March, thus making it somewhat lengthy for use as a Regimental March. Dr. Wood was asked if this might be omitted, but he preferred that the March should stand as it was written.
The matter was left in abeyance, but during the summer of 1926 Dr. Wood died, and subsequently the Band parts of his March in its original form were obtained.
Then the Commandant, Brigadier Clementi-Smith, and several senior officers came to the Band Practice Room and I was required to make suggestion whereby the March could be shortened.“
Under Mr. Ricketts baton, the Band recorded the march on the HMV label which was a single-sided 10 inch record thus making their first recording. There were several other amendments made to the march before the present day version was by Captain Cliff Pike.
In Canada, The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals had adopted the march and was carried on by the 1st Canadian Division Headquarters and Signals Regiment using the arrangement by Captain Charles Adams. It should be noted that there are two other marches related to the communication field in the Canadian Forces. Communications Command use the march Communications while the Communications and Electronics Branch adopted The Mercury March.
The Corps of Army Music March
(Come Landlord fill the Flowing Bowl and The Minstrel Boy)
Corps of Army Music
The formation of the Corps of Army Music meant that a suitable march was required for bands to play as part of the new Corps identity. Denis Burton won an open competition with this march, which uses Come Landlord fill the Flowing Bowl as the main theme and The Minstrel Boy for the trio.
Le Regiment de Dorchester et Beauce
This march was used by the Le Regiment de Dorchester et Beauce as a quick march. The regiment was authorized in 1869 at St. Isadore, Quebec with the title of Provisional Battalion of Dorchester. The name under went several changes until 1932 when the above title was finally granted. The regiment was disbanded in 1936 when it amalgamated with the 5th Machine Gun Battalion CMGC to form the Le Regiment de la Chaudiere (Mitrailleuses). The march was discontinued in favour of the French march Sambre et Meuse.
(The Flower of Scotland)
Electrical and Mechanical Engineering/Genie Electrique et Mechanical (EME/GEM) /
Land Ordnance Engineering Branch (LORE) / Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers
The title is unique in the fact it describes the abilities of the former Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (RCEME). Throughout the history of the Corps, especially during both world wars, Korea and UN duties, they have been called upon to repair just about everything anywhere. In this age of high tech, rapid response forces, the need for these "Craftsmen" remains important. The Corps of Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers trace its origins to the British Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers and back to the Assize of Arms of King Henry II, which made an attempt to lay down a “scale of issue” for the army. The Canadian corps was bestowed the title ‘Royal’ by King George VI in 1944 with ‘CORPS’ add in 1953. The unification of the Canadian Forces in the 1960’s the name was changed to the Land Ordnance Engineering Branch (LORE) in 1968, later Electrical and Mechanical Engineering/Genie Electrique et Mechanical (EME/GEM).
The proud heritage of the old Corps is pasted on through this slow march and the title continues to reflect the unique ability of the corps. The arrangement is of the Scottish tune The Flower of Scotland by Brian Gossip and written in a style that allows it to be performed as a stand -alone brass and reed number or in conjunction with pipes and drums.
The Sherwood Foresters
This slow march was written around 1951 by the Bandmaster Sidney Howard Price of The Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment). The Foresters were formed from the old 45th and 95th Regiments of Foot in 1881 and adopted the marches Young May Moon and I’m Ninety-Five until the 1970 amalgamation to form the Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment (29th/45th Foot).
Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment)
Used by the Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) is a melody consisting of - The Soldiers Return, Grannie Duncan (played in slow time), Sae Will We Yet, Grannie Duncan (played in slow time), Miss Gridle, Chisholm Castle, Johnnie Cope.
27th Regiment of Foot
The 27th Regiment of Foot used this 17th century tune at various times until 1881when the marches The Sprig of Shillelagh and Rory O’More were adopted on the formation of The Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers. The march was discontinued when the regiment became Royal Irish Rangers in 1968 and later the Royal Irish Regiment.
The American song Little Brown Jug is a distant relative of this song that has been in oral tradition in Scotland and Ireland since the seventeenth century. Burn’s John Anderson, My Jo has what is practically the same melody. Another version of it appeared in Charles Coffey’s The Beggar’s Wedding that was Ireland’s answer to John Gay’s The Beggar opera and was first performed in 1728.
Das Nachtlager von Grenada
43rd Regiment of Foot / Blues and Royals / The Oxfordshire Light Infantry
Up to 1863 the 43rd Foot used the popular I’m Ninety-Five as a quickstep later adopting this march from an opera composed by Conradin Kreutzer. This may have been influenced by the German bandmaster the time. In 1881 the 43rd (Das Nachtlager von Granada) and the 52nd Regiment of Foot (Lower Castle Yard) where amalgamated forming The Oxfordshire Light Infantry with an arrangement that combined the two tunes. The Blues and Royals adopted the march for their trot past.
Dashing White Sergeant (Serjeant)
49th Regiment of Foot / HM Royal Marines / Royal Berkshire Regiment / Suffolk Regiment
Composed by Sir Henry Rowley Bishop with words by General John Burgoyne, the British commander at Saratoga. After his defeat at Saratoga he returned to England and retired in 1783 when he wrote several plays. Interesting though the song became a favorite at West Point Military Academy.
The tune, once used by the 1st Bn The Royal Berkshire Regiment (49th Foot), was passed on from the 49th ROF that may have adopted it during the Peninsular War. Since 1882 the Royal Marines have used A Life on the Ocean Wave however prior to this each Division had its own march that changed as new commanders were appointed. This tune was one of the more popular choices along with Le Prophete and British Grenadier.
The Suffolk Regiment dates back to 1685 formed from the 12th Regiment of Foot. In 1742 the regiment paraded before the King on Blackheath with the colours being carried by a young Ensign James Wolfe. It is noted that the regiment went through several marches before settling on Speed the Plough. This march was one of the few that were used along with Men of Harlech and The White Cockade.
Daughter of the Regiment
85th (Bucks Volunteers) King’s Light Infantry / King's Shropshire Light Infantry /
Middlesex Regiment (Duke of Cambridge’s Own) / Royal Scots (The Royal Regiment)
The 85th (Bucks Volunteers) King’s Light Infantry had used La Ligne until 1846 however after Colonel Sir Gaspard Le Marchant took command of the regiment this march was adopted. It was introduced as a regimental march due to its popularity in Donizetti's opera La Fille du Régiment and was considered very suitable for the quick pace of a light infantry regiment. In 1881 the march was retained after their name changed to The 2nd Battalion of The King's Shropshire Light Infantry. The Middlesex Regiment (Duke of Cambridge’s Own) used the tune as a slow march prior to becoming part of the Queen’s Regiment. The Scots Guards play it when a member of the Royal family is present. This commemorates of the birth of the future Queen Victoria at a time when her father was Colonel of the Regiment. It was played for the first time at Aldershot in 1889 when the Queen reviewed the 2nd Battalion. The Royal Scots play the march when Royalty is present instead of their famous march Dumbarton’s Drums.
Days When We Went A Gypsying
North Staffordshire Regiment / Staffordshire Regiment
The North Staffordshire Regiment (64th and 98th Foot) had this old song as a regimental march. It would appear the regiment adopted the song written around 1840 by the composer, Nathan James Sporle. The Staffordshire Regiment retained the march by combining it with Come Lasses and Lads to form the new regimental march The Staffordshire Regiment.
Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment) / Royal Regiment of Fusiliers
The Royal Fusiliers adopted it a slow march and was retained by the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers as part of the slow march made up of Rule Britannia and De Normanie.
New Brunswick Rangers
Little is known about this march that the New Brunswick Rangers used until their amalgamation in August 1946 with the Saint John Fusiliers (MG) to become the South New Brunswick Regiment. In December of the same year the title changed to the New Brunswick Scottish Regiment. The present day regiment is the 1st Battalion, The Royal New Brunswick Regiment using A Hundred Pipers.
(King Christian / Danish National Anthem)
15th/19th The King’s Royal Hussars / 19th (Queen Alexandra’s Own Royal) Hussars / The Light Dragoons
When Princess Alexandra of Denmark became the Regiment’s Colonel-in-Chief, the 19th Hussars were granted the honour of using the Danish National Anthem as the regimental slow march. Although officially titled King Christian in memory of a great Danish hero of the 17th century, the march was known to the 19th simply as Denmark. The 15th/19th The King’s Royal Hussars retained the march from the 19th Hussars and was combined with Eliott’s Light Horse. This slow march was retained in December 1992 when the 13th/18th amalgamated with the 15th/19th The King’s Royal Hussars to form The Light Dragoons.
The Derby Ram
The Sherwood Foresters
The Sherwood Foresters (95th Derbyshire Regiment) used this tune as a mascot march composed by John Callott a prominent London organist and composer. The 95th Derbyshire Regiment were, since 1858, famous for their Regimental Mascot, a Ram. He was and still is known as "Private DERBY" and has been held on the official strength of the Regiment since that time. The first ram was acquired in 1858 by the 95th (Derbyshire) ROF at the Seige and capture of Kotah during the Indian Mutiny. The Commanding Officer whilst on one of his forays within the town noticed a fine fighting ram tethered in a temple yard. He directed Private Sullivan of the Number 1 Company to take the ram into his possession. What the intentions of the Commanding Officer is unknown however the ram became a regimental mascot.
The origin of this popular old ballad has yet to be ascertained at present. The words have appeared in various forms referring to the town of Derby and surprisingly enough was a favourite of George Washington. One version, a shanty, was sung mainly at pumps and sometimes at the capstan while the shore version, referred to as The Old Tup, is very old. The version used in this book is the one set to music by Dr. Callcott and is still sung today.
(General Bland’s Inspection March)
3rd (King’s Own) Hussars / The Queen’s Own Hussars
This slow march is also known by the title General Bland’s Inspection March. The composer, believed to be the General’s daughter, composed the music to commemorate the regiment’s part in the 1743 Battle of Dettingem during the War of the Austrian Succession. The regiment was known as the Queen’s Consort Own Regiment of Dragoons at the time with the title 3rd (King’s Own) Hussars being adopted in 1861. The music itself was lost but in 1920 was discovered in a Dublin museum. Bandmaster Hatherley arranged the music and added the trio because the original music was too short. The march was officially authorized and used until the 1958 amalgamation when The Queen’s Own Hussars were formed and used as an inspection march.
Devonshire and Dorset Regimental March
(Widdecombe Fair, We’ve Lived and Loved Together, The Maid of Glenconnel)
Devonshire and Dorset Regiment
The Devonshire and Dorset Regiment were formed in 1958 when the Devonshire Regiment and Dorset Regiment amalgamated. At this time the former regimental marches were combined into a new arrangement bandmaster Mr. Boulding. The tunes include: Widdecombe Fair (The Devonshire Regiment), We’ve Lived and Loved Together (The Devonshire Regiment) and The Maid of Glenconnel.
Devonshire Regiment / Royal Anglian Regiment
The regimental march of The Northamptonshire Regiment was The Northamptonshire until 1968 when it became the 2nd Battalion, The Royal Anglian Regiment and The Deveonshire Rose was adopted as the slow march for all three battalions. The Devonshire Regiment used it prior to their 1881 amalgamation with the Dorset Regiment to form the Devonshire and Dorset Regiment.
Army Air Corps
The music is taken from Shakespeare’s play The Merchant of Venice written between 1596 and 1598. Although classified as a comedy in the First Folio, and while it shares certain aspects with Shakespeare's other romantic comedies, the play is perhaps more remembered for its dramatic scenes (particularly the trial scene), and is best known for the character of Shylock. Today it is combined with The Thievish Magpie and used for the slow march of the Army Air Corps.
54th Regiment of Foot / Devonshire and Dorset / Les Carbiniers de Sherbrooke
Though commonly known as the Dorsetshire the tune is an adaptation of the Scottish lament titled The Maid of Glenconnel. It is amongst the best of quicksteps that have been adopted from very old favorite songs. Prior to 1881 it was used by the 54th Regiment of Foot which became the Dorsetshire Regiment and later the Dorset Regiment. When the Devonshire and Dorset Regiment was formed in 1958 the march was part of the arrangement of the new regimental march which also included We’ve Loved and Loved Together and Widdecombe Fair.
The legend of the story is that in 1757 John Campbell was commissioned by the King to raise the 54th. His wife’s favorite song was The Maid of Gleconnel, which tells of a love maid lamenting her lover’s departure for the wars. The tune was adopted for band use, and as the result of being so often played it became the regimental march of the 54th.
In Canada the Les Carbiniers de Sherbrooke used the march until they re-organized as the Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke in 1933 and the march was changed to Queen City.
The 88th Regiment of Riviere Quelle, Quebec used the march prior to their disbandment in 1901. The regiment was formed in 1882 as the 88th Kamouraska and Charlevoix Battalion of Infantry when the Provisional Battalion of Kamouraska and the Provisional Battalion of Charlevoix amalgamated. Little is known of the march or the composer.
5th Dragoon Guards (Princess Charlotte of Wales’s) / Suffolk Regiment
The music is taken from Vincenzo Belli’s 19th century opera ‘Norma’, a two act opera first produced at La Scala on 1831. The 5th (Princess Charlotte of Wales's) Dragoon Guards was a British cavalry regiment raised in 1685 as the Duke of Shrewsbury's Regiment of Horse. They saw service for three centuries and used this march until being amalgamated into the 5th/6th Dragoons in 1922. The march was not retained, as the new regiment would later become the 5th Royal Inniskilling Dragoon Guards adopting The Soldiers’ Chorus. The Suffolk Regiment also used the slow march for their 2nd Battalion however it was discontinued when they became the 1st Battalion The Anglian Regiment and The Devonshire Rose was adopted.
The Drunken Piper
Little is known about the background of the march composed by A. Macleod but it used by the Scots Guards for their 1st Battalion, B Company march.
Duchess of Kent
Corps of Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers / Corps of Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (REME) / Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Branch (EME) / Land and Mechanical Engineering Branch (LEME) / Land Ordnance Engineering Branch (LORE)/
Royal Horse Guards / Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment / Worcestershire Regiment
The march was composed by Princess Louise Victoria, later the Duchess of Kent and Queen Victoria's mother. In the 1830’s the Royal Artillery had no recognized regimental marches - slow or quick - and the even the appearance of the Duchess of Kent March did not fill the void, although it has been the recognized Royal Artillery Slow March for over a century. Other marches were in use at that time - The Duke of Clarance, The Marquis of Granby and Master General’s March. The first was a favourite after the Duke of Clarence became William IV (1830) but after 1836 the Duchess of Kent March was given precedence. The Duchess had a good knowledge of music and many of her compositions have been preserved and used over the years. The Band of the Royal Artillery had played at Kensington Palace on many occasions and the Duke of Sussex and the Duchess of Kent took a great interest in their performances. In 1861came the sad news of the death of HRH the Duchess of Kent, who been a patron of the band in earlier years. As a sign of mourning the Garrison Orders read: Bands in Garrison will not play until further orders.” After the Crimean War ended the famous siege train returned to Wollwich and Queen Victoria, Prince Consort and the Duke of Cambridge reviewed the troops on the Barrack Field. In records of the Wollwich District 1888-90, WT Vincent described the scene. In summary it stated that this review the dismounted troops marched past to the British Grenadier while mounted troops used the Duchess of Kent March.
Over the years the march began to assume a more honourable place. Bandmaster Stretton had the idea of using it as a regimental symbol or signature tune on public occasions. This was tried out on December 7, 1909 when he performed it was performed for that purpose at a Queen’s Hall concert. It was played at the end of the just before God Save the King. The reason for this novelty was that these concerts were a reunion of the older officers and the march became a regimental emblem just like the crest. On this occasion it was programmed as The RA Slow March (Princess Augusta’s). This mistake was corrected at the next concert in March 1910.
In 1919 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, London with King George V, Queen Alexandra, and Princess Victoria in attendance for a Commemorative Service was held in honour and memory of the thousands of Royal Regiment who had died during the First World War. The final music played was this march.
Several regiments have connection with the march - Worcestershire Regiment as a slow march and was retained after the amalgamation to form the Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment; the REME uses the original version Grand March: Duchess of Kent which was arranged by Michael Retford and published in the 1890s; and in Canada it was used throughout the many changes and re-organizations of the Canadian Army and is still used by the present day the Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Branch (EME).
Dufferin Rifles of Canada
Dufferin and Haldimand Rifles of Canada / Dufferin Rifles of Canada
The Dufferin and Haldimand Rifles of Canada began as two separate regiments, The Dufferin Rifles of Canada and the Haldimand Rifles (The Kynegad Slashers). Prior to their 1946 conversion to artillery they used this march then the standard artillery marches. The march was handed down from the Dufferin Rifles of Canada, a regiment that dates back to 1866 as the 38th Brant Battalion of Infantry.
Duke of York
Canadian Grenadier Guards / Grenadier Guards / Honourable Artillery Company / King’s Royal Rifle Corps / The Yorkshire Regiment
Contemporary 18th century notes of the Hanoverian composer Christopher Eley (Grenadier Guards) are scattered however it is known that he was a violoncello player and composer of the celebrated martial air titled The Duke of York’s March and author of a Tutor for the Basson.
The East Yorkshire Regiment was granted a secondary title ‘The Duke of York’s Own’ to march in the 1935 Silver Jubilee of King George V which also the 250 anniversary of the raising of the Regiment. HRH The Duke of York (later King George VI) had been Colonel-in-Chief of the Regiment since October 1922. This march was not adopted when they amalgamated in 1958 to form The Prince of Wales’s Own Regiment of Yorkshire; the King’s Royal Rifle Corps used the tune a slow march; and in 1805 it was adopted when the Duke of York became the Colonel of the First Guards later the Grenadier Guards that continue its use along with Scipio as a slow march; the Canadian Grenadier Guards are allied with their English counterparts and use the same marches.
The Honourable Artillery Company (HAC) was incorporated by Royal Charter in 1537 by King Henry VIII. Considered one of the oldest surviving regiment in the British Army it has used this march for many years.
The Yorkshire Regiment retained the march on its formation June 6th 2006 from the former famous regiments of The Princess of Wales’s Own Regiment of Yorkshire, The Duke of Wellington Regiment and The Green Howards.
(The Scottish March, The Scotch March, The Scots March)
The Royal Scots (The Royal Regiment)
This is one of the oldest regimental marches in the British Army and The Royal Scots have marched to it for over 250 years. Samuel Pepys referred to it in his dairy after hearing it in the streets of Rochester in 1667, referring to the tune as The Scots March. The tune The Scots March as a name is somewhat vague and no definite connection with any tune of today has been established. Since the Regiment never changed its march there is belief that The Scottish March (Scots March) and Dumbarton’s Drums are one and the same. Referenced to the piece and to its association with the regiment are plentiful and include a comment by Samuel Pepys whilst in Rochester in June 1667 that ‘here in the streets I did hear the Scotsh March beat by the drums before the soldiers, which is very odde.’
The great martial delight in the music and its popularity contributed to its selection as a regimental march. The unknown author may well have been a soldier at the time and possibly in the regiment itself. He may have chosen the tune due to the fact he was well aquatinted with it. In March 1633, Charles I granted Sir Charles Hepburn permission to raise a Scottish regiment for service in France. The Regiment served in France from 1633 to 1678 except for two short periods when it came to England. Later the regiment became known as Dumbarton’s Regiment after the Colonel, Lord George Douglas, Earl of Dumbarton. As Lord George Douglas’s Regiment was sent on loan by King Charles II to Louis XIV of France. From 1675, when the Colonel created the Earl of Dumbarton, the regiment played this tune as a regimental march. The regiment did not wear a tartan until they adopted the Government pattern trews in 1881 later changed to the hunting Stewart tartan. Over the years of service the name changed until 1882 when it became known as The Royal Scots (The Lothian Regiment) until 1920 when the present day title was adopted. The tercentenary of the regiment was celebrated in 1933 where the King George V granted the Regimental pipers the honour of wearing the Royal Stewart tartan. “It gives me great pleasure to confer upon your pipers the right to wear my personal tartan - the Royal Stewart. I know that you and your successors will ever hold fast to your high traditions and the Scotland and the Empire may always rely on The Royal Scots.”
Being one of oldest regiments with battle honours that resemble a short history of the British Army, its nickname is even older, Pontius Pilate’s Bodyguard. Between 1678 and 1688, the time when the Regiment was recalled to England from France, an unknown author composed some verses to the tune of the march. The song became popular enough to cause Allan Ramsay to include it in his Tea Table Miscellany of Scots Songs, published in Edinburgh during 1724. It appeared under the title Dumbarton’s Drums two years later. The words and music appeared together in William Thommson’s Orpheus Caledonius (London, 1735) and a year later in Daniel Wright’s Micellany as “Dumbarton’s Drums, never before printed to music”. It popularity grew and began to appear in may Scots Collections of Music and Song during the 18th century and the early 19th century under the title of Dunbarton’s Drums.
The air itself was known before the time of the Earl of Dumbarton under the title of I Serve a Worthy Ladie. It appears in the Skene Manuscript that it dated around 1630-31. Then song became known in England and was published in Apollo’s Banquet by John Playford (London 1687), 1689 and 1693.) Playford refers to the tune as a New Scotch Hornpipe and simply named A Scotch tune. In the time when the regiments were known after the commander officers name the Royal Scots were at one time known as Dumbarton’s Regiment and some body wrote words to the music to reflect this.
The Royal Scots long and very distinguished history came to an end in 2006 when it amalgamated with the King's Own Scottish Borderers to become the 1st Battalion of the newly-formed Royal Regiment of Scotland.
Duty Above All
Combat Service Support Units of the Canadian Forces
The Service Battalions throughout Canada are the lifeblood of supplies and services on which many Regiments and Corps heavily depended. Initially, these battalions were made up of The Royal Canadian Army Service Corps Transport Companies, The Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps Units and Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineer Workshops. When unification took place some of the old corps disappeared and new branches created. To keep a historical link with these old and distinguished corps the march was adopted by the Combat Service Support Units as composed by Canadian Ben G. Bogisch.